Teacher Tip and Lesson Plan

St. Patrick’s Plans 

Part II

 

Irish word:  Hello  “Dia dhuit”

 

Irish Saying

The Way We Tell a Story  (Pat McCarty 1851- 1931)

Says I to him, I says, says I,

Says I to him, I says,

The thing, says I, I says to him,

Is just, says I, this ways.

I hev’, says I, a gret respeck

For you and for your breed,

And onything I could, I says,

I’d do, I wud indeed.

I don’t know any man, I says,

I’d do it for, says I,

As fast, I says, as for yoursel’,

That’s tellin’ ye no lie.

There’s nought, says I, I wudn’t do

To plase your feyther’s son,

But this, I says, ye see, says I,

I says, it can’t be done.

http://islandireland.com/Pages/folk/sets/sayings.html

 

Try chanting with your class in appropriate dialect.

 

Kielbasa Kale Soup

6-7 potatoes

¼ c. butter

10 cups water

2 ½ lbs. kale, clean and chopped

Approx. 2/3 lb kielbasa sausage, sliced

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Directions

Boil potatoes in water and butter until tender.   Drain, save liquid, and mash potatoes.  Return potatoes to the potato water, simmering about 15 minutes.  Add kale and kielbasa. Cook 30 more minutes. 

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

 

Kale Chips

1 bunch kale

1 Tab. Olive oil

1 teas. Seasoning Salt 

Preheat oven to 350.  Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Clean kale.  Pull the leaves from the stems and tear up into bite size pieces.  Dry kale, then coat with the oil and salt. 

Bake approx. 10-15 minutes.  Watch.  Edges may brown, but do not let burn.  Allrecipes.com

 

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://davincisclassroom.wordpress.com/2009/02/26/teacher-tip-and-lesson-plan-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hello,
    Nice blog, I just came across it and I’m already a fan
    I recently went down 30 pounds in 30 days, and I want to discuss my weight loss success
    with everyone. I described my experience
    on my blog, and I would appreciate your feedback!

    If I can lose that much weight then anyone else can too. Whatever you do, don’t give up and you WILL
    achieve all your weight loss goals!
    Thanks for reading,
    Joan
    Latest blog post: kulturystyka dieta


Leave a Reply

