Teacher Tip

Our Desk, Our Throne

Teachers, do you like your desk?  When I see a teacher sitting at their desk, sitting up their throne, I wonder, “Does she/he stay there all day?”   

Most teachers don’t sit at their desk all day.  I know my diploma doesn’t say, “Thou hast earned the right to sit all day.”  

Our best teaching includes moving.  As we circulate among the children, we’ll observe our student’s needs.  When I see a teacher mobile, I think–committed, interested, and professional.  (In seventeen years of teaching, I never sat at my desk, not once.  Okay, okay ….I exaggerate.)

There are exceptions.  Tired?  Use a student’s chair to travel throughout the classroom.  Sick?  Working anyway?  (Bless you.)  You can stay at your desk.

LESSON:  MOVE AROUND THE ROOM TO WORK WITH YOUR STUDENTS.

Question:  If we rule like a monarchy, will we produce anarchy?

Published in: on November 7, 2008 at 6:50 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://davincisclassroom.wordpress.com/2008/11/07/teacher-tip-elementary-education/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

